Home SPORTS PSL 8: Hasan, Sarfaraz demoted as PCB renews local player categories

PSL 8: Hasan, Sarfaraz demoted as PCB renews local player categories

PSL 8: Hasan, Sarfaraz demoted as PCB renews local player categories

LAHORE: The Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB) renewed the local player categories for the eighth edition of the Pakistan Super League (PSL), scheduled to commence on February 9, 2023.

Following renewal, the categories of some players have been upgraded which include Multan Sultans’ Shahnawaz Dahani and Shan Masood (both Gold to Diamond), Islamabad United’s Mohammad Wasim Junior (Gold to Diamond), Peshawar Zalmi’s Haider Ali and Mohammad Haris (Diamond to Platinum and Silver to Gold respectively), Quetta Gladiators’ Mohammad Nawaz and Naseem Shah (Diamond to Platinum and  Gold to Diamond respectively).

Whereas, United’s Hasan Ali and Zalmi’s Wahab Riaz, were both demoted from Platinum to Diamond category, while Gladiators’ Sarfaraz Ahmed was demoted from Platinum to Gold, Sultans’ Sohaib Maqsood and United’s Faheem Ashraf both demoted from Diamond to Gold.

The PCB has also opened the registration window for foreign players.

“The teams will now put forward relegation requests for the players before finalising retentions. After relegation requests are floated, all teams are given an opportunity to meet the player’s base category. If the player’s base category is not matched, the player may be relegated to a category below his base category,” the PCB said in a press release.

“U23 players cannot be part of a squad as an Emerging player for more than two years unless they have played nine or less matches in those two years.

ALSO READ  Cameron Green excited to be in IPL | Cricket News

“The player lists have been shared with the six franchises for the tournament to be played across four venues from 9 February to 19 March 2023.”

Teams’ squads after categories renewal

Karachi Kings

Platinum: Babar Azam and Imad Wasim
Diamond: Mohammad Amir
Gold: Amir Yamin, Mir Hamza, Sahibzada Farhan, Sharjeel Khan, Usman Shinwari
Silver: Mohammad Ilyas, Muhammad Imran Jr, Rohail Nazir, Umaid Asif
Emerging: Faisal Akram, Mohammad Taha, Qasim Akram and Talha Ahsan

Islamabad United

Platinum: Shadab Khan and Asif Ali
Hasan Ali and Mohammad Wasim Jr
Azam Khan, Danish Aziz, Faheem Ashraf, Musa Khan, Waqas Maqsood, Zafar Gohar, Zahid Mehmood
Athar Mahmood, Mohammad Akhlaq, Nasir Nawaz
Mohammad Huraira, Mubasir Khan and Zeeshan Zamir

Quetta Gladiators

Platinum: Mohammad Nawaz
Iftikhar Ahmed, Mohammad Hasnain, Naseem Shah
Ahsan Ali, Mohammad Irfan, Sarfaraz Ahmed, Sohail Tanvir, Umar Akmal
Ali Imran, Ghulam Mudassar, Hassan Khan, Khurram Shahzad
Abdul Wahid Bangalzai, Ashar Qureshi and Mohammad Shahzad

Peshawar Zalmi

Platinum: Haider Ali
Shoaib Malik and Wahab Riaz
Aamer Jamal, Amad Butt, Arshad Iqbal, Hussain Talat, Imam-ul-Haq, Kamran Akmal, Mohammad Haris, Sohail Khan, Usman Qadir
Ali Majid, Khalid Usman, Mohammad Amir Khan, Mohammad Umar, Salman Irshad, Sameen Gul, Tayyab Tahir
Arish Ali Khan, Sirajuddin and Yasir Khan

Multan Sultans

Platinum: Mohammad Rizwan
Khushdil Shah, Shahnawaz Dahani, Shan Masood
Anwar Ali, Imran Khan Snr, Rumman Raees, Sohaib Maqsood
Rizwan Hussain
Aamer Azmat, Abbas Afridi and Ihsanullah

Lahore Qalandars

Platinum: Fakhar Zaman, Haris Rauf, Shaheen Afridi
Mohammad Hafeez
Abdullah Shafique
Ahmad Daniyal Latif, Akif Javed, Imran Randhawa, Kamran Ghulam, Maaz Khan, Sohail Akhtar, Zeeshan Ashraf
Syed Faridoun Mahmood and Zaman Khan

ALSO READ  James Anderson seeking life from dead Pakistan wickets | Cricket News

Originally posted 2022-10-26 15:34:34.

Previous articleBhumi Pednekar Bo*ld Dress: Bhumi Pednekar wore something like this in the name of blouse, people said – ‘Urfi is needlessly infamous’
Next articleDallE-2 in Another Culture War! What were its Creators Thinking?


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here